Log in
|
Sign up

PS3 Firmware 4.20 Inbound, Due Out Tonight

by Mike Bendel June 25, 2012 @ 10:32 am


Update: No longer a rumor. Sony has officially announced that the firmware is arriving tomorrow.

According to a user on NeoGAF privy to details on Sony’s firmware schedule, PS3 firmware 4.20 is due out tonight, or tomorrow depending on your time zone. The update includes the ability to set timed shutdown intervals that are invoked automatically after viewing Video, TV, Music, or Game content.

Also featured are usability enhancements, such as the ability to (finally) select multiple saved data items, and then either delete or copy them as a group. Unfortunately, the copy multiple functionality does not work on saved data that is DRM-protected.

Sony hasn’t made any mention of a new firmware for PS3 officially, but the changelog isn’t exactly far-fetched. And, it wouldn’t be the first time details were leaked ahead of time. We’ll find out if it’s legit soon enough. The complete changelog is as follows:

- When the wireless stereo headset (CECHYA-0080) is connected, you can now adjust the sidetone level for microphone audio. Select [Sidetone] under (Settings) > (Accessory Settings) > [Audio Device Settings].
–o Off: Disable microphone audio from the headset
–o 1-5: Enable microphone audio from the headset

- You can now set the amount of time until the system automatically turns off. Under (Settings) > (Power Save Settings) > [System Auto-Off] you will be able amend the time for [Video/TV/Music/Photo] and for [Game/Other Features]:
Video/TV/Music/Photo – After 1 Hour, After 2 Hours, After 3 Hours, After 4 Hours, After 5 Hours, Off
Game/Other Features – After 1 Hour, After 2 Hours, After 3 Hours, After 4 Hours, After 5 Hours, Off
–o If you enabled [System Auto-Off] in system software prior to version 4.20, the selected time will be set for both [Video/TV/Music/Photo] and [Game/Other Features].
–o The default settings are [After 4 Hours] for [Video/TV/Music/Photo] and [After 1 Hour] for [Game/Other Features].

- Under (Games) > (Saved Data Utility (PS3™), you can now select multiple saved data items, and then either delete or copy them as a group.
–o You cannot use [Copy Multiple] to select data that is copy-protected.
–o Some saved data cannot be copied.
–o The upper right corner of the screen displays:
===== the number of saved data items that are selected
===== the total number of saved data items
===== the total file size of the saved data items that are selected

 

Follow this author on .

you say:

Login with your username and password below.